RSS

Preparing a Noveling Zone

18 Oct

It doesn’t take a lot for someone to look at a garage that is packed with random, usually useless, junk and think: Hey that could be a great place to write. Ok, maybe it takes more than I’m willing to admit but that’s what I did from the moment I saw the built in work table in my garage and the space that was just calling out to be utilized. Come November I will need a place to write because being inside drives me bonkers more often than not and I can’t get anything done sitting in front of a TV.That realization made me get my lazy rear outside to go through all of the junk, throw out half of it, and pile the rest up in a corner.

One week later the garage was cleaned out, the cement floor had been swept and mopped. Poison had been put out and left to sit for a few days so no creepy crawlies would take over. I had bought all of the furniture I needed and I start setting everything up. It took a table, four dining room chairs, four camping chairs, two large rugs, four place mats (made into a small rug), a bar stool and Christmas lights to turn it into what it is now. It also took a lot of sweat and tears but it was the first of many that will be shed in that garage before everything is over with. Now it has been transformed from a humble, debris filled scrap heap to a lovely winter wonderland author’s nest. I love it and it will be inspirational through the coming month.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Writings & NaNo

 

3 responses to “Preparing a Noveling Zone

  1. indieaink

    October 19, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    Looks like you’ve created a really nice space to write in. I love the idea of the Christmas lights over the writing corner. They’re so warm and happy looking!

     
    • mmandy05

      October 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      Thank you. I like it. 🙂 I put in the Christmas lights and the green garland to make it a little warmer and more natural. I would love to write out in nature if I could but in the middle of November that’s not really an option here.

       
  2. Don Theo

    October 19, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    This is great. I love that you have different places to write within the space…feeling a little blocked you can just move to another station. And yeah, the Christmas lights are a sweet touch 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
